10/03/2020 @ 8:30 am

Haw River Trail Run for Special Olympics Alamance

8K, 5K Run

Haw River, NC

About the Event

Event Starts In

What //

8K, 5K Run

When //

Saturday, October 3, 2020 @ 8:30 am

Where //

103 Elk Street
Haw River, NC 27258


Now in its fourth year, this beautiful Trail Run along the banks of the Haw River is held to benefit Special Olympics Alamance County. Special Olympics Alamance serves over 400 adult and children athletes with developmental disabilities.  They provide year-round athletic competition in 13 sports and provide the opportunity to develop physical fitness, demonstrate courage, and experience joy at all levels and at no cost.  

This out-and-back course will give you a tour of the Sellers Falls section of the Haw River and Mountains to Sea Trail.  The run will start and end in Red Slide Park located at 103 Elk Street in Haw River at the Shadows of the historic Cone Denim Mill. This trail run is an excellent introduction to the trail running season in NC.  This is the perfect chance to warm up for the Pilot Mtn. Ultra and the Medoc Trail Races!

Last year exactly 100 runners signed up for the event

In the 5K Nicholas Silva led all finishers in 19:58.  Haley Copeland won the women’s title finishing second overall behind Silva in 22:20.

Rick Nowalk led the way in the 8 miler in 1:04:53 while Anne Cherry led the women in 1:21:52.

This year, the 8 miler has been reduced to the more standard 8K distance.

The entrants have the option of participating as a timed finisher or non-timed. Here is the difference. 

Those who register as a timed entrant will receive an official time at the end of the race and will be eligible for awards.  Those who register not to be timed will not receive an official time or be considered for any of the post race awards.  However, all finishers will be able to see their finish times on a digital clock at the finish line or can time themselves.

The entry fee is $30 up to and including August 8, then $40 up to and including race day.

Awards will be presented to the top three male finishers overall and to the top three female finishers overall in each race.